PDA

View Full Version : Factoring your time into your jewellery costs

lolabead
30-09-2014, 08:21 PM
me again! Just curious, can most jewellery makers REALLY charge accurately for their time? I seem to take so long to make a necklace, from the design stage through to completion. Today's example is I've spent all day on just 1 third of the necklace. I'm not even touching on the time required to source and choose materials etc. If I charge for my time my prices would be way over acceptable but perhaps that's because I'm new at it!

caroleallen
30-09-2014, 09:25 PM
I think you've hit the nail on the head. It's because you're still learning and everything takes a lot more time. It seems only 5 minutes since I was in your position, though it's actually about 17 years. I've tried everything in the book to build my business and it's been hard work. Keep going and you'll eventually find you can make a living at it.

Tabby66
30-09-2014, 09:28 PM
Hi Lola,

This is a difficult and much debated discussion!!

When you first do something it does take you longer, it certainly did me and still does. Even now, if I compare the first time I make a piece to the time taken to remake it, I am much quicker on the remake. What I have also found is that most work has a retail price and I don't count my hours into this....I do count my costs and I am aware of my time and complexity of the work involved,....but what I have found is that it is swings and roundabouts with regards to the price/profit ratio and over a body of work it pretty well evens itself out.....

Hope this helps a little and I'm sure other folk will be along to share their views!!

Tabby x

enigma
30-09-2014, 10:19 PM
Yes, what Tabby said about the swings and roundabouts ^
Plus also whats already been said about the time taken to learn etc.
Overall I make a good hourly rate but thats because some things Im now adept at so can do a lot quicker which balances out the things that I struggle at.