PDA

View Full Version : Just a thought about selling ...

BarryM
24-09-2014, 07:47 AM
I am a newcomer to jewellery making, but one theme that occurs again and again is the inadequacy of "corporate" websites to offer a suitable market place for quality hand crafted jewellery.

ETSY and NotOnTheHighStreet seem to be the most commonly used but, according to several posts, it appears that they also sell mass produced and imported jewellery, which somewhat "dilutes" the craftsman side of jewellery making.

Has anyone considered setting up a group website for craft jewellers ONLY to market and sell their products and "bespoke" services. There would seem to be enough people on this forum alone, who together, could provide input to a web design and also control those who are allowed to sell on such a site.

Any thoughts? I would be quite willing to co-ordinate any of those who may be interested or think that this has "legs" - I was a project manager heavily involved in IT before I retired last year (albeit nothing to do with jewellery).

Shoot me down in flames if this has been suggested before, but it has been ticking over at the back of my mind for the last month or so.

The fundamental aim would be to provide an excellent market place for craft jewellers exclusively controlled and owned by its "members".

Gemsetterchris
24-09-2014, 09:01 AM
There is a site by the name of jewelstreet that might be an answer for those doing one-off bits.

Lucie
24-09-2014, 10:22 AM
It's a great idea, but there are a few others attempting it. Uk Handmade for one.
The problem with the big guys like Etsy & NOTHS is exactly that - They're huge & everyone knows them, so they have both the money & the big brand behind them.
Have you seen the sheer amount of advertising NOTHS is doing at the moment? It's on the TV every time you switch it on!

I don't know whether any of the others are "cooperatives" though?

caroleallen
24-09-2014, 10:27 AM