PDA

View Full Version : self taught, apprenticed, night school or degree trained?

medusa
16-09-2014, 06:33 PM
I was struck by some of the 'hello' threads that a lot of us seem to be self taught. I'm avoiding real work at the moment so thought I would divert myself with a fun poll. Well hopefully fun poll.

I just thought it would be interesting to see where folks learned their skills.

medusa
16-09-2014, 06:39 PM
I am currently only self taught, but hope to get some more formal training under my belt next year.

enigma
16-09-2014, 07:38 PM
Im currently only self taught and SO wish I could take a course as I see so much amazing work from the professionals which is way, way beyond what I can achieve, but just don't have the time :(
One day hopefully.

Tabby66
16-09-2014, 08:08 PM
adult education evening class at college of FE, self taught and kinda apprenticeship arrangement for last3-4 years from a master jeweller......the latter has brought my work on leaps and bounds (in terms of mastering skills, understanding techniques/ design possibilities & finish)....wasn't sure which button to tick Medusa!!!!!

caroleallen
16-09-2014, 08:14 PM
I've said self taught and the odd short course. It's not entirely true as I did 2 years of evening classes in the first place.

BarryM
16-09-2014, 08:45 PM
Self taught but about to start evening classes

Hans Meevis
17-09-2014, 07:21 AM
I clicked self taught but of course that is strictly speaking not true.
No one is self taught, shown by the very fact that everyone on this site learns from others here as well.
Take enamel painting, which is what I am teaching myself the skill of.
But I have learned the tricks and methodology from other artists, web sites, books and videos.
All of those help me to increase my skill, but I learn from others.
Self taught is a more romantic term though.:)

Goldsmith
17-09-2014, 07:34 AM