PDA

View Full Version : Making a lapiz cab ring

Goldsmith
11-09-2014, 08:32 AM
I am not sure if I have posted this before, so apologies if you have seen it. This was a simple bezel set ring that I made for my daughter and I took photos along the making process for a book I am writing and I thought that some learners might find them useful.

Here are the first 5 showing the first stages of preparing and soldering.

Goldsmith
11-09-2014, 08:35 AM
65746575657665776578Here are the next 5 photos;

Goldsmith
11-09-2014, 08:37 AM
And the next 5.

Goldsmith
11-09-2014, 08:39 AM
Finally finished;

James

BarryM
11-09-2014, 01:41 PM
I am just a hobby jeweller but between picture 13 and 14 you have reshaped the ring from a rectangular cross section to D shaped. Is there any reason that you did this after soldering to the cab setting rather than before? As a beginner I would have done it before - it being much easier (at least it would seem to me) to work the ring without the setting attached.

Nice job - looks really good.

Goldsmith
11-09-2014, 02:14 PM
I am just a hobby jeweller but between picture 13 and 14 you have reshaped the ring from a rectangular cross section to D shaped. Is there any reason that you did this after soldering to the cab setting rather than before? As a beginner I would have done it before - it being much easier (at least it would seem to me) to work the ring without the setting attached.

Nice job - looks really good.

Barry, On silver rings I always make the ring shank slightly smaller than required and after I soldered the ring shank to the setting, I hammered the ring shank section on a ring mandrel to harden it and enlarge it to the required ring size. Then I filed the shank to the D shape before setting the stone in place and polishing.

James

BarryM
11-09-2014, 03:46 PM
Thanks, that is a really useful bit of experience passed on.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Aurarius
11-09-2014, 05:15 PM