PDA

View Full Version : soldering question

enigma
08-09-2014, 10:06 AM
Sorry, must feel like Im only here to ask questions atm :/

I have a soldering issue that Ive been struggling with as a total, self taught amateur :(
I make horsehair braid rings , and have previously been using solder paste - yes I know, hang my head in shame LOL
But the problem with paste is that its really hard to get a finish without at least one tiny air bubble so I know I need to use strip but can't work out how to set it up.
This is the ring:

Its 2mm sheet which I channel out for the braid then solder a strip on at the back to cover the braid ends.
Currently I shape the strip then put paste on the inside and stick it on with the paste and solder with the surface at the top which keeps it in place.
But if I use solder sheet/strip then that would have to flow from the top so how would I set it up please?
Im thinking I would have to use binding wire?
Any tips much appreciated thank you.

mizgeorge
08-09-2014, 10:48 AM
No shame in using paste - I know the die-hards will never be converted and will mutter into their borax cones about cost and tradition, but there's nothing wrong with using whatever suits you to get the job done. I use it a lot, especially for some of the very small pieces I make daily.

You shouldn't be getting air bubbles though, so it may be that you're not getting the heat to quite the right places first time. Even with paste, from what I can see of what you're making, I'd still be using a clip (I like cotter pins, but many here use titanium or steel strips bent into various configurations) or binding wire to ensure a tight join before you start.

edited to add, might there not be a more cost effective way to do this with sheet and rectangular wire, rather than having to cut (and scrap) such large channels?

Goldsmith
08-09-2014, 11:37 AM