PDA

View Full Version : 2.5 mm Cooksons setting

Edhelien
29-08-2014, 06:12 PM
Hi,
I need an advice with setting.
I bought this setting: http://www.cooksongold.com/Settings/18ct-Yellow-Round-Double-Gallery---Collet-2.5mm-R4d20-prcode-NN1-112
I wanted it for 2.5 mm black diamond. But the setting is little bit larger (2.6-2.7 mm) and when I place the stone inside, I can see a tiny rim of metal. That means setting is too big for 2.5mm stone. But i think it is too small for 3mm.
I am not experienced with this type of setting and I am quite confused. According to description it should be for 5pts (diamond?).

ps_bond
29-08-2014, 06:44 PM
According to my charts, 5pt is 2.4mm but never mind. When you say you can see a tiny rim of metal, do you mean the gallery? With commercial settings I usually expect to remove metal from the gallery to get the stone to sit low enough - it's more of a problem with deep-bellied stones that don't conform to the ideal cut for that shape though.

Edhelien
29-08-2014, 07:28 PM
Yes, the gallery. I probably can remove some metal and it needs stone-setting burr anyway, but I am worried that I ruin it.
Thanks.

Aurarius
29-08-2014, 09:07 PM
Just to make sure, are you saying that the 2.5mm stone already sits between the prongs all the way down on to the gallery? If it does then it sounds as if you won't have much leeway to remove material.
BTW, what's your main worry about using a setting burr specifically? Are you worried that it's the setting burr that will ruin the job, or that just removing material some other way may ruin it? Whatever happens, you'll have to create a seat for the stone, so material will have to be removed.
BTW 2, I've learned to use Cooksons measurements as only a rough guide to stone size, not a definitive statement.

Gemsetterchris
30-08-2014, 02:48 PM
If there is a gap between stone & claws don`t bother trying to set it.