PDA

View Full Version : Soldering Surgical Steel Earring Posts

BarryM
25-07-2014, 07:22 PM
I am making a pair of silver earrings and the customer says she is allergic to silver earring posts so must have surgical steel posts. What is the best method for soldering these to silver earrings? I have made several pairs with silver posts and have no problem with the basic soldering technique but am unsure if the same methods will work with surgical steel.

Sorry for the basic question but I am new to this.

Thanks in advance for any help / advice you can offer.

Barry

mizgeorge
25-07-2014, 08:29 PM
The problem is that even if you successfully solder these, you're using silver solder and silver backs, which will be in contact with the ear, and people who claim to be 'allergic' to these may have the same reaction. If, of course, it really is a problem with sterling.

The two most common causes of dermatitis ('allergy') for earring wearers are either nickel content (and yes, many imported pieces still contain nickel) or tiny scratches caused by badly finished wire ends which lead to infections. There are also people who are sensitive to the copper content of sterling. Another problem is caused by the habit of many commercial makers to silver plate over sterling for shine and finish (and to save bothering with proper finishing and polishing), and this plating will, in time, start to flake and chip, which can also lead to problems. Same for rhodium plating.

The simplest answer is to use only fine silver for the construction of the whole piece, however this is rarely strong enough for posts. However, argentium 960, especially heat hardened, is usually pretty OK and has a very low copper content, but is strong enough to give a good result. Alternatively, 18ct white gold tends to be fine for most wearers.....