PDA

View Full Version : Offer for a Place!

KarolinaMoon
22-05-2014, 09:13 AM
I posted recently about the advantages and disadvantages of doing a degree in applied arts....
well I have been offered a place on the degree course for contemporary applied arts....
and I am in two minds whether or not to do it...but swaying more towards doing it at moment! I only have a week left to decide! It is a part time course, and I would have to keep my 3 day job on. Plus I would be a 'mature student' (eeekkkkk!!). It would mean a hell of alot of juggling between my day job, study and caring for my 20 month old daughter!

So confused about what to do, but now that I have the offer I am very very tempted to give it a go! :)

madsally
22-05-2014, 09:36 AM
I have a degree in Contemporary Applied Arts, which I graduated from 3 years ago. I went there as a sculptor, and came out as a metalsmith. Whether or not it's the right route for you depends on what you want to get out of it, I guess. Personally I got frustrated with the lack of direct teaching, and I feel like I've learned more since I left than when I was there. But it is a great opportunity to take the pressure off making to sell, and having a chance to play. On an Applied Arts course, they encourage you to experiment with all different materials, and you can end up discovering something you didn't know existed, and it certainly gave me a base knowledge of lots of different processes. It could be said that it's a waste to go into it being set on one type of art, say metalwork, but if you're open to trying new things and seeing where they lead, it can be great.

Of course it all massively hinges on the individual course, establishment, facilities and staff. And you certainly get out what you put in.

Good luck, whatever you decide!

Nyc
22-05-2014, 09:39 AM
I tossed a coin for you. It landed heads up, so it's a 'go'. Could be life changing.