PDA

View Full Version : soldering rose gold...

Oberon
17-01-2014, 02:02 AM
I am a total newbie to working with gold full stop but would like to make a set of rings.

Do you have to use rose gold solder on rose gold (very expensive option!) or can you get away with yellow gold?

also can you answer another little question re gold? What is DF gold and how does it differ from 'normal' gold?

Thank you!

Sarah

Dennis
17-01-2014, 02:29 AM
Hi Sarah,
You can certainly use yellow gold of the same carat and how much it shows depends mostly on the neatness of your join. The curse is that it will show more to you because your conscience will prompt you, and hardly at all to anyone else.

As you say a set of rings, It sounds as if you might be making a Russian wedding ring, or stacking rings, in which case there will be enough reflections from other colours to hide it even more.

I've no idea what DF gold is, unless it is this: http://www.dfgoldsmith.com/,

or this : http://www.flickr.com/photos/42085750@N00/11139321085/

Regards, Dennis.

Oberon
17-01-2014, 03:07 AM
Dennis,

Another night owl like me!?

Thank you so much for that, yes it is a little stack as a practice run prior to a potential commission... I will try with 9ct yellow first and see how I get on I think, save a little bit. I can only find red solder as a paste or large sheet and at nearly £40 a bit much if I don't need to.

For a relative novice would you recommend paste for the yellow gold anyway or solder wire?

With regard to the GF thing it was just that a few of the Cookson gold wires had that in their description... Hmmm

Many thanks again for a v helpful answer!

Sarah

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wallace
17-01-2014, 08:59 AM
Hi Sarah,

I have some red solder at 9ct. I am away until Monday, but pm if you wanted to buy a small bit from me.

I am chomping at the bit for 18ct White. Cannot find a small bit anywhere. Nope, not even Betts Metals.

Kindest Wallace

Dennis
17-01-2014, 12:08 PM