PDA

View Full Version : Hi Everyone.

Animalnutty
03-12-2013, 06:54 PM
Hiya,

I've just joined the forum and asked for advice before introducing myself, which seems a little on the rude side, so trying to rectify that, so hello to all potential new advice givers :) :~:

I am completely self taught, mostly though experimentation but reading too. I love making pieces, and seeing something through from an idea that I get while wondering on a walk and seeing something or while sitting half asleep and an idea pops into me head, to a finished piece in reality.

I ended up getting into it after doing designs for friends and getting pieces made and not being happy with the quality of the qualified, spent four years at uni and working, jeweller. I remember quite clearly thinking I am sure I could do a better job, and a year later was doing so and started selling at craft fairs. That is rather more to do with me being a determined git than any kind of great ablity!

I sold at craft fairs and in a few galleries for about 5 years and then ended up taking a break while doing a degree in another subject. That took over for about 5/6 years and then something happened that got me back into it with a vengeance. My range is all keepsake type pieces, all have special meanings to the wearer of the piece and I just love doing something that is part of someone elses story and is cherished by them. I get really excited about each piece and often, being a bit of a sentimental softy, get very emotional about the work, but love it so much.

Is lovely to have found somewhere where am sure others feel the same about their work and have so much experience and skill.

Really looking forward to reading through the forum.

Take care,

Kare

CJ57
03-12-2013, 11:06 PM
Hi Kare
It seems to be quiet here everyone must be busy so Hi from me. I'm fairly new to this forum but not to making jewellery but there is always something to learn

caroleallen
04-12-2013, 07:31 AM