PDA

View Full Version : Hello

cfb
22-10-2013, 10:20 AM
Hi, my name is Clare. I started making jewellery a long time ago but have not made anything for about 15 years. Did have a hallmark and still have the stamp but I have gone back to using my maiden name and have not done anything about it. Maybe one day.

I do have a bit of a problem though if anyone can help. I have been making a man's bangle out of thick brass about 1.5mm it will be flat 17cm with a 3cm gap. I have never worked with brass before and thought I would cut and solder some silver initials for the middle and put two little silver caps on either end of the bangle, just top side. Problem I have never worked with brass and I am using silver solder. I started with hard but it just was not running so I thought I would bring it down to easy particularly as the silver is very different in gauge to the brass and it is still not soldering. I am wondering if the torch I use, a small Ronson is actually man enough to get the brass hot enough, maybe I need to up the size of the torch? I need help::help:

SteveLAO
22-10-2013, 10:38 AM
Hi Clare and welcome. Happy and ready to sort out your hallmarking issues when "one day" comes along :)

Patstone
22-10-2013, 01:16 PM
Hi Steve, I have almost finished the 2mm thick ring for a commission, never again, pain to bend, eventually had to bend it in a vice. Anyway "woman" still wants an inscription on the inside, the ring is 1cm wide, so can it be on two or three lines. Its 9ct and think a laser hallmark may be better as there wont be much room for a stamped one unless its done sideways. I have to make it a tad bigger, then it will be winging its way to you.

Myosotis
22-10-2013, 01:49 PM
Hi Clare