PDA

View Full Version : Help! Ultrasonic woes :(

Melanie
03-10-2013, 04:31 PM
Hello everyone

Firstly hello - have been a long-time lurker on here but this is my first time posting... I was hoping that someone on here would be able to help me solve my ultrasonic mystery...

I make jewellery from sterling silver clay... have been experimenting with the luxi polishes and love the shine it gives, but need to get the polish out of the details... so.... I brought a ultrasonic (like the 2L one cookies sell) thinking this would sort it out, however...

I am getting weird white residue on my silver - comes out looking worse than when it went in... have tried, plain water, with a squirt of fairy, and the ultrasonic cleaning fluid from cooksons and it still turns up. It doesn't rub off with a polishing cloth, and the only way I can get rid is by polishing it again with the luxi which gets me back to square one (nice shiny flat bits, but gunky imprints). Am assuming its either the polish or some sort of reaction with the cleaning fluid.. have I just got a rubbish ultrasonic or am I doing something wrong? :(

Any help would me greatly appreciated! Thanks :)

Melanie

Patstone
04-10-2013, 06:06 AM
Hi Melanie
I bought an ultrasonic and mine was a cheapie, thinking it would be good to clean things, but I was very disappointed in mine, even got to the stage of adding ammonia to the mix to see if that worked better, it didnt by the way. Just about everything I have goes in my tumbler. It seems as if the only thing ultrasonics are good for is removing the polish on stuff, it seems to do that to a degree. Before I had the ultrasonic, I used to make a mix of ammonia and water in a jam jar and leave items that had just been polished and had the wax in hard to reach places and left overnight it got most of it off, with the aid of an old toothbrush.

Goldsmith
04-10-2013, 07:59 AM
Hi Melanie,