PDA

View Full Version : Beginner's Project Ideas

Sandra
28-08-2013, 07:51 PM
Hello jewellery makers,

Does anyone have ideas (preferably with instructions!) for beginner's jewellery projects? I am most intrigued by designs using both silver and copper, challenging but not too difficult as I am not too experienced at anything (YET)!

caroleallen
28-08-2013, 08:14 PM
Hi Sandra. Without knowing what equipment you have, it would be difficult to recommend anything.

Dennis
28-08-2013, 08:51 PM
Many beginners just start with metal clays and never get much further. You can produce some credible pieces that way, with only a few tools, but it's an expensive way to use metals and hardly familiarises you with the jewellers craft.

What immediately springs to mind is to recommend a beginners book with projects and you might get TWO-IN-ONE MANUALS JEWELLERY, by Madeline Coles, which is not too expensive, has 23 projects and lots about the common jewellery techniques.

Another short cut is to join a part time beginners curse, so that you can get a better overview of the subject and try all the tools.

Let us know how you get on. Welcome to the forum, Dennis.

Sandra
28-08-2013, 09:22 PM
Thanks for the replies, and I realise now I didn't give vey much information! Supplies I have are bench vice, bench pin, jewellers saw, torch, soldering materials, various types of pliers and hammers, drill, metal alphabet punches, bracelet-size mandrel and probably other things I can't think of at the moment.
I've worked a bit with clay but I'm not satisfied with that- I need to get into actual actual metal work!

Wallace
28-08-2013, 09:44 PM
for some really basic and good ideas (and tips) Stephen O'Keefe is a good starter for 10 for ideas and designs, techniques and ideas with a variety of metals. I got myself a copy according to amazon at the beginning of January 2004 - good grief, really, how time flies when you are having fun at the bench.