PDA

View Full Version : Which tumbler/media do I need?

rachdee
12-08-2013, 09:32 AM
Hi

I need to buy a tumbler and was thinking of either the Evans double barrel or the 3lb tumbler - both from Cooksons. Sorry I can't post a link as I'm new here.

Has anyone got experience of either of these and would you recommend them?

I hand stamp initials on small sterling silver discs but sometimes the discs may have very small scratches. What tumbling media would I need for these - I was thinking that I would need the round or satellite shaped shot rather than mixed which has the small pins in.

What about the plastic cones or ceramic shapes - would they be suitable to get fine scratches out before using the ss shot to burnish and shine?

Thanks - Rachel

Dennis
12-08-2013, 01:29 PM
I have no experience of abrasive media in tumblers, nor have I seen anyone else here writing about it. From what you say you might already have used our search box, and realised that tumbling with shot and soap only burnishes, but will not remove scratches.

Sutton Tools, if you phone them might be able to give you advice about ceramic chips. If you don't have huge numbers of disks, then rubbing them on a flat piece of MicroMesh and going up three or four grades, will give a splendid finish. Again, put it in our search box top left. Dennis.

rachdee
13-08-2013, 02:04 PM
Thanks for your reply Dennis. I do have an old tumbler that is on its last legs and have used the mixed shot on my discs but they sometimes have pitted marks on them which I now realise is because of the pins in the shot. I've just ordered the Evans tumbler and some round shot so hopefully this will work better.