PDA

View Full Version : Rolling mills....Quality??

taylordebs
11-05-2013, 08:48 PM
Would love to own a rolling mill but money is tight, I am only a hobbyist so would it be best to buy the value cookies one or hold out for a second hand Durston one please, can there be anything terribly and expensively wrong with a used one please? Many thanks

Dennis
12-05-2013, 07:35 PM
Most people would not part with a decent rolling mill until they retire or die. So if you see a Durston and the rollers are not pitted the roller adjustment (if needed) is simple.
However it is much easier to turn a mill with gears and it is useful to have at least 80mm of flat rollers, as well as grooves for square wire and D-shaped.

If you search rolling mills in the box (top left) you will see that some members are quite happy with the Cookson economy model, but I guess exchangeable rollers are a pain you might avoid. Dennis.

taylordebs
13-05-2013, 10:10 AM
Thanks, so can you get new rollers for Durstons if necessary please? thanks

Goldsmith
13-05-2013, 10:50 AM
Thanks, so can you get new rollers for Durstons if necessary please? thanks

Durston give great service and will supply any replacements for damaged or missing parts if they have them in stock, my Durston D2 mils have given me great service over the years and are almost as good now as when I bought them, if they are looked after and not misused they will last a long time.

James

Patstone
13-05-2013, 12:15 PM
Time for me to show my ignorance again. I know rolling mills make things thinner, but do you cast the sheet first and then roll it, or is there something else you can do with it, because I may need one.

Dennis
13-05-2013, 08:39 PM
Recycled scrap metal is cast into an ingot mould first. Then it can be rolled into sheet, or put into the grooves to make wire. I don't do any of that Pat, because pouring molten metal at home is not my idea of fun and because the product can be unreliable.

So my mill is used among other things for: