PDA

View Full Version : bezel polishing problems

cleofish
16-04-2013, 01:54 PM
Hello, wondering if anyone can help.

I am a newbie in the silversmithing world and am trying to make a bezel cabochan pendant.

Ive measured the bezel around my stone, soldered the bezel wire, soldered that onto a backing plate, cut around the backing plate, im looking for a flush circle fitting so when you look at the pendant straight on there is no distraction from the stone itself.

Ive also soldered on a bail, so hopefully all my soldering is done.

Now the problem I have is im starting to polish the item up, the edge around the side of the bezel some places are completelty flush and you cant see a dividing line where the bzel wire sits on the backing plate it just appears as one piece, however in other places around the edge there is a definate dividing line between the bezel wire and the bottom backing plate.

Do I need to go back and using a file (flat) to get rid of this line? Or will it go when I work my way through the sand paper grades?

Ive already used the sand papers a little and although it looks better its not the polished finish I would want, plus in some places I can still see that line.
Im a bit worried that If I file and polish any more ill really thin the bezel wire, as of yet I havent set the stone.

Am I just being a bit of a wimp in terms of filing or should I put up with the line?

Also I have triploid and rouge would that make any difference to the line with a machine, or is it good old fashioned elbow grease?

Sorry for the ramble, be grateful for any insight.

Goldsmith
16-04-2013, 02:39 PM