PDA

View Full Version : How to remove extra solder from jump rings?

kislany
16-03-2013, 02:54 PM
Hi everyone, I'm new here with my first newbie question. Just started to learn soldering, made my first bracelet from soldered jump rings (woohoo!) using solder paste, but now I'm stuck with those extra bits of solder that are showing at the joints. Obviously the more I work with it, the easier it will get and the less extra solder I'll have showing by learning what is the right amount of solder to put on the joints, but right now what is the best way to remove the solder from each jump ring? Can I have a few ideas thrown at me, so I see what I have lying around on tools to use for it?

Nick martin
16-03-2013, 03:58 PM
To the best of my knowledge, and its not a lot at the moment, I think you'd either use less solder in the first instance or maybe fine grade needle files to file the excess down?

Nick

kislany
16-03-2013, 04:05 PM
Thanks Nick,

I'm just learning - it's my first chain ever, so I know eventually I'll use less solder, but for now I do want to clean up this very chain - and it's good to know how to deal with extra solder if it happens again. Thanks for the tip on the fine grade needle file.

louisella76
16-03-2013, 04:25 PM
Hi - could you post a photo to show exactly where the extra solder is? needle files or emery paper could do the trick

kislany
16-03-2013, 05:03 PM
Here is a quick pic I took of the chain, sorry about the bad quality, I just snapped the shot right after taking it out from the tumbler. You can see the extra 'blobs' of solder very well on the 3rd large ring from the left (also on the 4th at the bottom). Some rings are better, some are worse...it's my first chain and I know I'll improve with practice.

Patstone
16-03-2013, 07:27 PM
I would use fine needle files too and maybe some fine sandpaper stuck onto a wooden drinks stirrer.

kislany
16-03-2013, 07:49 PM
Great, thanks for the tips. I guess the fine needle file wins, I'll give it a try.