PDA

View Full Version : Pave set diamonds - how thick does the metal need to be?

glowpear
10-12-2012, 07:32 PM
Evening all,

This is not my first post, but I have since read that it is good form to introduce yourself before posting so apologies for that. I am a hobby gold and silversmith of a few years on and off and I live in Hamburg, Germany. I have a small workshop space that I use once a week, I am mostly self taught and I do courses when I can although my 8 month old daughter is keeping me a bit too busy for any nice, interesting courses at the moment! My question is to do with pave set stones, which I don't have any experience of to date.

I am looking to bezel set a gorgeous cushion shaped cabochon aquamarine stone that I picked up at a trade fair recently. I am looking to set the stone with a lip protruding from the base of the bezel cup to allow for a small row of pave set 1-1.5mm diamonds (not yet purchased), which I cannot do myself and will take to a professional setter to ensure results. What I would like to know from one of you knowledgeable sorts is how thick the metal for the back of the bezel cup needs to be? The setter I spoke to was spectacularly unhelpful and with the price of gold being what it is I want to keep my costs as low as possible. With such small stones I would expect the diamonds would not need to be open backed, but I don't know if there are any other factors I need to consider with pave set stones. I have checked my books and done some searches online but I am not feeling very confident.

Does anyone have any thoughts?
Thanks in advance.
Glowpear.

Dennis
10-12-2012, 09:25 PM
Well I am not sure that I understand the problem, so at the risk of stating the obvious the metal must be thicker than the height of the stone from table to culet. In other words, buy the stones first and measure them. Dennis.

ps_bond
10-12-2012, 09:46 PM