PDA

View Full Version : silicone and raidal polishing wheels.. do i need them both??

4ngi3
06-12-2012, 02:29 PM
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone can please shine a bit of light on the difference between silicone and raidal polishing wheels? I make sterling silver and fine silver pendants and rings (a very small home business/hobby). I just need something that will allow me to smooth out any rough surfaces and scratches on my silver pieces. And maybe if one of these would be good at smoothing out marring on silver too that would be really great :)

I need to keep my costs down and I have a dremel stylus and thought if I get a set of either the silicone or radial polising wheels to add to my tool collection. But which one will do me? Do I really need both?

You are probably goind to tell me they both do completely differnt things but I would love your opinion on which one you think would be more suited to my needs.

Thanks in advance.

ps. I've never used these before and was wondering if you can use the wheels from the coarsest white thru to pink and get a mirror shine? thats kinda what I'd be looking to get :)

Patstone
06-12-2012, 03:01 PM
Hi
I am still learning which ones to use too, but I have found the radial finest discs very good for getting into corners that are difficult to reach, also I use the very fine Eveflex Cooksons Product Code : 970 300 they are very useful too, never tried the silicone ones, but I am sure someone will be able to tell you.
Pat

Dennis
06-12-2012, 03:17 PM
Here's the difference:

Polishing wheels are about 2.8mm thick and although you can buy all the grades, it is possible to manage with two, or three. They are most useful for giving a polish to narrow edges after filing and emery paper (that dark grey abrasive paper you can get at DIY stores).