PDA

View Full Version : Galleries comission

naturallysilver
16-10-2012, 01:28 PM
Hi Folks
I have been supplying a gallery on a sale or return basis for a few months.We agreed that she would put 100% on my wholesale prices and she has sold some bits. She said there was a price limit on what she could sell so I made my prices really competitive and even let her have one and a lower price than I sell for at craft fairs and Artist open house events. I didn't even increase my prices for getting things hallmarked to kept it competitive. This weekend I happened to be near the gallery and as owner doesn't work on Sun I popped in to see what pieces she had on display. She had got them priced up at 150 and 200% increase on my prices. This makes some of them above her ceiling prices. I supply the items and when she eventutally sells items she makes a huge profit and she has had no initial outlay. I am thinking about getting my things back and looking for another venue. This is the first gallery I have put my work in and as I was new she would only do it sale or return. Has anyone else had this happen? I feel I am being exploited.

caroleallen
16-10-2012, 01:31 PM
That's really naughty of her. That's why it's important to get your sor terms in writing. I think you should speak to her, though I understand what it's like when you're new to the game.

naturallysilver
17-10-2012, 09:07 AM
Thanks Carole. Now all sorts of things are going through my head. What happens if she sells something and here is a fault and it needs repairing or replacing. I could end up making it again and she still keep her profit. I would always replace or refund as I want customer satifaction but what about her share she is hardly going to want to refund. I think I definetely need some kind of terms but where do you start? It looks like a real minefield. Can anyone offer any advice of where I can find this information?

Goldsmith
17-10-2012, 10:35 AM