PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbee

RoyB
15-10-2012, 11:42 AM
Hi. I was made redundant a couple of years ago and due to poor health have had to retire early. I've not taken well to retirement but have hobbies that involve working with wood, however the dust is making my condition worse so now need to find an alternative. One of the things I do is scroll sawing and have quite a bit of experience cutting intricate items and have recently taken to cutting old coins with a hand saw to turn them into pendants and am really enjoying the process. I have seen a video about enamelling and am considering further investigation and will be asking lots of questions in the next few weeks as things progress. (the more I read the more confused I become, old age I'm afraid) :confused:
Many thanks for reading.
Roy

Goldsmith
15-10-2012, 12:16 PM
Welcome to this forum Roy,

It's good to hear that you enjoy saw piercing, let me know if you want any tips as saw piercing is one of my skills.

James

Patstone
15-10-2012, 02:26 PM
Hi Roy, welcome from me too.

lorraineflee
15-10-2012, 03:10 PM
Hi Roy, welcome from me as well!!

Lorraine

teatowell
15-10-2012, 08:51 PM
Hi Roy,
Can't wait to see some of the work you've been doing with the coins.
Tanya

RoyB
16-10-2012, 10:12 AM
Thanks for the welcome. I may take you up on your offer James as I've found working with metals is slightly different to cutting wood. Some coins are really hard to drill and cut so if you could advise on blade size that would be appreciated. The general rule with wood is to have 3 teeth to cover the thickness of the piece, is it similar for metal. I am currently using 4/0 blades. You are expecting too much of my computer skills Tanya if you are want photos of what I do. I have learned to email but the rest is mystery to me so I will have to wait until my 10 year grandson comes over to do anything like that. How sad is that!!
Thanks again
Roy

Goldsmith
16-10-2012, 10:25 AM
Hi Roy,