PDA

View Full Version : casting scrap not happening

trialuser
06-09-2012, 10:57 AM
Hi, newbie here.
I am now having trouble casting scrap sterling silver in a small reversible ingot mold (rectangular ingot one side, cylindrical rods the other.
When I first tried it - it worked very easily, now it solidifies before getting to the base.
My technique is the same as far as I can tell.
I have tried, cleaning the mold, with and without fluxing the mold, with and without oiling the mold, with and without pre heating the mold, adding charcoal to the molten pool.
I ply the flame onto the pool and the lip of the mold as I pour.
The scrap I am now trying to cast has been melted perhaps 10 - 20 times (by me) - does this change the properties, perhaps burning off either silver or copper?
Anyone shed any light why I'm struggling please?

Kwant
06-09-2012, 11:55 AM
I have been using one of those for a couple of months now and have not encountered a problem (previously all my casting was in cuttle bone). The mould has to be heated that is a cert, I do not add charcoal (never heard of doing that) I do add a little borax, once molten play the flame over the pool and watch the scum slide off to the sides and when you pour it is the lip you need to concentrate your flame on, as it is here that the metal has a chance to cool and pour quickly and smoothly in one motion, any hesitation will result in the metal bunging up.

If you have any fine silver you can add to your melt this will help "refresh" the metal, I do this regularly as I too melt and remelt and want to make sure it is always up to assay quality.

The oil on the mould is to prevent it rusting and there should not be an excess of it, I don't think it has anything to do with the casting process. I do not flux the mould either and to date have had no problems.

trialuser
06-09-2012, 07:07 PM
Thanks for the reply. I think you are right in that I am probably being a bit feeble with my pouring, I need to go for it.