PDA

View Full Version : Setting stones in PMC without firing.

Sim
09-08-2012, 02:47 PM
Hi,

I'm new here and just finding my way round, so please excuse me if there's a similar question elsewhere.

I'm currently making a ring out of silver PMC. I need to set stones in that can't be fired with a torch (I have no access to a kiln, and I'm just a hobbyist). I've got some silver bezel strip to make a rubover bezel, but it's not quite as neat as I'd like. I'll practice of course. I don't have, and can't get, a collet making plate.

What other options do I have for setting a square, unfirable stone in PMC? I can't find a 5mm square silver collet. Can I use other any white metal? I know platinum doesn't bond well with silver, but does anything else? Is it possible to form a collet with PMC and set the stone afterwards...? Can you anneal PMC so it rubs over...? Or does anyone have any tips for making a square rubover collet with the bezel strip? I just want to make sure I'm not missing any obvious tips.

Or, of course, are there any other square settings I can use that I've not yet heard of? I don't want claws, I want it to be solid.

Thanks in advance,

Sim x

mizgeorge
09-08-2012, 03:20 PM
There are a number of ways of doing this, but the best option would be to make the whole thing in sterling. Much cheaper too!

Sim
09-08-2012, 04:20 PM
It's a gift, and he doesn't want sterling. So a no-go, I'm afraid!

Kwant
09-08-2012, 06:01 PM
Here is a link to a site where indeed you can get a 5mm square collet. http://www.goldschmiedebedarf.de/product_info.php?products_id=13570 this is for a faceted stone with a culet, which is what I am assuming you are attempting to set.