PDA

View Full Version : Soldering cufflinks???

Silver Leaves
18-08-2009, 03:39 PM
I wonder if anyone can help me? I have been asked to make some cufflinks, but I'm having trouble soldering them. I have the assembled cufflinks that cookson sell. I've been fluxing the back of the decorative part and the base of the cufflink, putting a pillion of easy solder on the back and heating the decorative part then lowering the cufflink onto it as the solder melts, but as soon as I put it in the pickle the back drops off. Also as the flux bubbles the solder slides around and then isn't in the correct place.
I would really, really appreciate any advice on this.

bustagasket
18-08-2009, 03:44 PM
:welcome:Welcome to the boards. I am afraid i am a novice and am unable to help you, but there are a lot of very experienced people checking the boards all the time so i am sure someone will soon have a proper suggestion for you.

In the meantime please dont me shy and keep posting :D:Y:

MuranoSilver
18-08-2009, 03:44 PM
Both parts have to be touching and heated for the solder to make its bond
are you allowing the cufflink part to heat too?

The front part - is it PMC by any chance?
If it is you might need to use more solder as PMC is quite porus....
also heavily burnish the area (which will help the bond too)

nic x

Silver Leaves
18-08-2009, 03:54 PM
Thank you Nic, yes the front is PMC, I wasn't sure when to lower the cufflink down and how much heat to use so as not to damage the pin. I did think about getting the ones that weren't assembled but wasn't sure how to put them together

Thank you
Nicola

Silver Leaves
18-08-2009, 03:56 PM
Thank you Julie, I did file that bit off, but I'm new to soldering so there must be something I'm doing wrong

julie
18-08-2009, 04:03 PM
Thank you Julie, I did file that bit off, but I'm new to soldering so there must be something I'm doing wrong