PDA

View Full Version : Metal Barrelling Machine

Muggins2003
11-02-2012, 04:13 PM
Hi! I am relatively new to jewellery making but have caught the bug, so every family member has bought me tools and books for Christmas and my birthday. I was very luck to receive a barrelling maching (with shots and detergent) from Cookson Gold but I'm a little uncertain what I can use it with. A book I am currently reading suggests that flat items should not be used in the tumbler. Given I have spend hours designing and making the pieces, I'm scared that the tumbler will wreck them!

I would hugely appreciate a rough guide as to what I can put in.

Many thanks!!!

caroleallen
11-02-2012, 04:32 PM
I wouldn't worry about flat pieces - they should be fine. The tumbler won't give you a mirror shine though, so is best for pieces with texture.

Dennis
11-02-2012, 10:37 PM
As Carole says it will be particularly good for pieces with surface detail and also for recesses which rotary tools can't reach. It is helpful to have stainless steel shot, so that you don't need to take precautions against rusting. Also mixed shot, made up of balls satellites and needles does best.
The minus side is that needles, particularly if very sharp tend to leave minute pinpricks on flat surfaces, and sometimes get stuck in recesses or in chains. There is quite a lot on this if you use the search box above. Regards, Dennis.

charlene
17-02-2012, 02:36 PM
As Carole says it will be particularly good for pieces with surface detail and also for recesses which rotary tools can't reach. It is helpful to have stainless steel shot, so that you don't need to take precautions against rusting. Also mixed shot, made up of balls satellites and needles does best.
The minus side is that needles, particularly if very sharp tend to leave minute pinpricks on flat surfaces, and sometimes get stuck in recesses or in chains. There is quite a lot on this if you use the search box above. Regards, Dennis.