PDA

View Full Version : Stone setting course

teatowell
13-01-2012, 03:20 PM
Hi all,

Does anyone on here run or could you reccommend a good stone setting course or tutor for a complete beginner? Have googled them but there are so many I don't know where to start!

Thanks for any suggestions.

Tanya

ps_bond
13-01-2012, 03:49 PM
I think it probably depends upon what stone setting you want to do...? There's quite a wide range of areas covered!

teatowell
13-01-2012, 05:33 PM
Peter,
I was hoping to find a basic one. I've just started to bezel set cabs in my evening class but was looking for something that would take my knowledge a bit further. Sorry - I don't know the technical terms yet but I'd like to know how to flush set faceted stones and channel settings too. I'm sure this is beyond my current abilities though!
Tanya

Goldsmith
13-01-2012, 06:20 PM
Suggesting tutors or courses really depend on where you are based Tanya. Holts Acadamy run setting courses if you are in London, see;
http://www.holtsacademy.com/Short_Courses/Jewellery_Making___Bench_courses.aspx?

James

caroleallen
13-01-2012, 07:27 PM
I'm doing one at John Cass at Easter, which I'm looking forward to. My son lives nearby, so I'm going to crash on his sofa.

Dennis
13-01-2012, 08:32 PM
Tanya, when you are considering a stone setting course, make sure that it covers the basics of bezel setting, tube setting and possibly some simple prong setting.

Some years back, when I was younger and shyer, I called on a famous school in Hatton garden, mentioned by James, to enquire about an intermediate course. I made a point of saying I was not ready for channel and pavé setting and that I never used diamonds. The secretary assured me that would be O.K.