PDA

View Full Version : New Creative Bronze and Copper Clay

Obsidian Butterfly
05-12-2011, 09:18 PM
Hi everyone

I just wondered if anyone had tried the new Creative bronze or copper clay that Cooksons are now selling, and if so what did you think? I'm interested because I like using PMC but find it so expensive, and I find the Art Clay Copper very dry and hard to work with, so wondered if this would be a good alternative.

Thanks everyone!

MeadMoon
06-12-2011, 09:48 AM
I've used the Copper and found it quite easy to use. Even torch fired it rather than firing up the kiln. But I found that the ends of the petals on this flower seem to have whitish bits that I haven't been able to clean off yet. Any ideas? Re-pickle and polish maybe? The other pieces were fine.

Obsidian Butterfly
06-12-2011, 12:15 PM
That necklace is beautiful!

You could try re-pickling and polishing, but to be honest I am a novice when it comes to pmc and clay, so I'm not sure what would help. I would love to learn more about it, which is why I wanted to try the copper clay, as funds don't stretch to the silver clay at the moment.
I don't have a kiln so everything I have tried has been torch fired. How long did u torch fire the necklace for? I torch fired a piece made from artclay copper but I found it brittle. I fired it the same way as I did the PMC3 silver I tried, which was to take it to the bright orange stage and then keep that colour for 2 minutes. Do you think that it needed to be fired for longer? The piece was a solid bird approx 2cm tall if that helps.

Thanks!

art925
06-12-2011, 12:46 PM
That necklace is beautiful!

I fired it the same way as I did the PMC3 silver I tried, which was to take it to the bright orange stage and then keep that colour for 2 minutes. Do you think that it needed to be fired for longer? The piece was a solid bird approx 2cm tall if that helps.

Thanks!