PDA

View Full Version : Is this design dangerous??

Solunar Silver Studio
15-08-2009, 07:35 AM
Hi everybody....I realise I am calling into a bit of a void here as there are only 3 of us on line - Hi Su, Julie:~: - but I've got a question...

I've just been asked to make one of my chains as a lariat style - with a large decorative ring to go centre front and the chain end to go through this ring and finish with a silver heart shape. I've never done a lariat before and what I don't understand is how you wear something like this without getting throttled (choke chain style!!).:eek: Do you put a sort of 'stop' in the chain which prevents the ring sliding up towards your neck? Or do you just leave it in the lap of the gods as to whether you survive wearing this rather dodgy bit of jewellery?? I'd feel more than a bit uncomfortable selling something that I viewed as potentially dangerous!!

I don't have to deliver it until the last week in August so I can wait a while for your suggestions and experiences! Do any of you sell this style routinely? (sorry - not a good word for artisan jewellers...but you know what I mean!!) Has anyone had a lucky escape??!!=:-O.

Do any of you have any interesting experiences with 'iffy' or downright dangerous designs??

Hope you are having a nice weekend all you absentee forum folk!!:D

bustagasket
15-08-2009, 07:38 AM
Morning Barbara sorry but you no me, no experience yet, hope julie can help, or someone else logs in to help ya :D

Solunar Silver Studio
15-08-2009, 08:01 AM
Thanks Su.......I really could poke you in the eye though!!:(| All of us on here have limited experience...yes, hard to believe - but even Peter and Nic have little, itty, bitty, incy, wincy, tiny, micro size gaps in their knowledge.... and you know a lot more than you let on!! There is more to life than jewellery don't forget ...don't do yourself down!!