PDA

View Full Version : Bead Setting tutorials?

Steffi
20-01-2011, 02:38 PM
Hi all :~:

I'm quite new to stone setting having done very little so far, and bead setting is something i want to practice.

Sorry if i've overlooked a thread already on this topic, but i was wondering if anyone can recommend any good books which explain this type of setting well, or video tutorials worth investing in? I've had a look on Youtube and such for an idea, but most are hard to follow with not really being able to see what's going on closely enough.
I've found a few written "how to's" online also, but it would be nice to have images with it to see if i'm following them correctly! :D

Thank you! :)

ps_bond
20-01-2011, 02:51 PM
Bead Setting Diamonds With Pave Applications by Robert Wooding is about the best coverage I've seen on the subject; there's also a DVD of the process by him around.

Steffi
20-01-2011, 05:28 PM
Ooh i'll check it out now, thanks for your help again, much appreciated! :D

Steffi

Steffi
21-01-2011, 08:18 AM
Morning all!

Just wondering if anyone has this book in their collection and if it is worth the investment too for future reference? 'The Diamond Setting Manual: Procedures & Techniques' by Robert R. Wooding; i am looking at buying 'Bead Setting Diamonds With Pave Applications' by Robert Wooding as it's a bit more in depth, but just wondered as a general guide is the other one worth a look? I already have 'Creative Stonesetting' by John Cogswell which i've read through and looks very good, not had the chance to try much out yet, so didn't know if this would be worth a look too?

I've found this website which is American (dont know if anyone's come across it before and ordered from them?) and their prices seem better than what i've found for the books elsewhere, though need to email about the p+p:

http://www.rocksandgems.info/books/books_stone_setting.shtml

Thanks, Steffi :)

ps_bond
21-01-2011, 09:07 AM