PDA

View Full Version : Working with stainless steel

art925
18-01-2011, 09:25 AM
I accepted a nice assignment on Saturday to create a 925 ring set with 4 pale round saphires. Today I have recieved an email asking if it would be possible to create this ring now in stainless steel. I have never worked with with this material before, so currently unable to reply.
I am guessing stainless steel is not soldered in the same way as silver and gold, but rings are machined on a lathe, am I right? Then the setting of the stones in steel, how would that work? can gold be soldered easily to steel?

Many thanks
Les

ps_bond
18-01-2011, 10:11 AM
The obvious question is "which stainless"... I'm told it is possible to solder to stainless; I've only tried a couple of times and found the results unsatisfactory - it may be that a more aggressive flux than borax was a better idea. As for stone setting, I've flush-set stones in unhardened steel before now; I'd probably target 416 as a candidate (it's quite a soft stainless, so lends itself well to shaping & engraving). And yes, you're probably best turning them - although they could be made up with some judicious TIG welding.

Dennis
18-01-2011, 11:56 AM
Dear Les

Tenacity No 5 flux will allow you to solder stanless steel to itself or to other metals using silver solder. The rings can be made from wire, but it is probably best to use ring bending pliers such as Cooksons 999 718. The metal work hardens quickly, so is easier to round it on a ring stretcher rather than a triblet.

The point of forums is to exchange information, so please let us know the outcome. Kind regards, Dennis.

Katia
04-02-2011, 08:48 AM
Hi,

I hope this helps:
I am an engraver on guns and I have worked quite a lot with steel. I also have looked at the possibilities of engraving stainless steel recently and I have been given a bit of information about it.