PDA

View Full Version : Gold on Silver

leemorris
04-10-2010, 05:22 PM
Hi
I want to solder a small flat bit of gold about 3mm sq onto a 10mm sq flat silver
can i put the solder onto the silver melt it then just place the gold on top? this is my first try at soldering.

Thanks
Lee

Kwant
04-10-2010, 05:38 PM
I have done the same thing in the past with no problems.

Goldsmith
04-10-2010, 06:30 PM
Lee, always put the solder on the smallest piece when soldering layers this way. I would add solder to the gold piece first as it will give you a better solder finish and not flood all over the surface of the silver.

James

leemorris
04-10-2010, 06:50 PM
James
So when the solder is melted onto the gold will it not fall off when i turn the gold over to stick it down?
Sorry if these are real stupid questions.
Lee

Emerald
04-10-2010, 07:55 PM
James
So when the solder is melted onto the gold will it not fall off when i turn the gold over to stick it down?
Lee

no Lee it wont fall of as it is melted onto the gold, dont forget to clean and re-flux before you solder the gold to the silver

stu_clouds
04-10-2010, 08:02 PM
James
Lee

No dont worry the solder will not fall off when u flip it over.

Stu

Dennis
04-10-2010, 09:20 PM
Lee, if you have not done this before, don't risk spoiling your gold, which is expensive, before practicing with something cheap like copper.
regards, Dennis.

leemorris
05-10-2010, 03:56 PM
Hi Thanks for the replies
i was going to use silver solder is this ok?
can't i put the solder on the gold then stick it to the silver while the solder is still molten?
Lee

Dennis
05-10-2010, 09:26 PM
Lee, what has been suggested is called sweat soldering. You melt several paillions of solder onto the smaller piece. There is no need, but for a beginner it is easier if you now pickle, wash and reflux. There should be evenly spaced patches of solder, flattened and re solidified.