PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Gloucestershire

Frances
10-09-2010, 07:25 AM
I have been making silver jewellery for about 4 years having attended some evening classes but am mainly self taught. My reason for surfing the web and happily finding this Forum is that I have made a napkin ring for my grandson's christening and need advise on how to achive a mirror polish, I have spent ages working on it with my Dremil type polisher using Tripoli then Crocus but as the area is large I am left with marks, I do not have access to a large polishing machine. I have put the napkin ring in the barrel polisher for a few hours but this does not give a uniform polish. Having read the some of the messages yesterday I ordered mirco mesh, which I hope will arrive today, the christening is Sunday week! Can any of you talented people advise me please?

mizgeorge
10-09-2010, 08:43 AM
Hi Frances, from another Glos resident - whereabouts are you?

I use micromesh a lot, especially for larger pieces, but for a final polish, I've switched from tripoli and rouge to using luxi (water based) polishing compounds, which I'm very impressed with.

Frances
10-09-2010, 10:29 AM
Hi George, Thank you so much,can you tell me where I can get luxi, please. I am in the Forest.

mizgeorge
10-09-2010, 11:33 AM
Frances, you can get luxi direct from the manufacturer - LUXI Shop (http://www.hewitt-impex.co.uk/shop/) for silver, the blue and then white are the best choice.

I'm down in Ciren, feel free to give me a shout if you ever come over this way :)

Dennis
10-09-2010, 04:22 PM
Dear Frances,
If you don't have a polishing lathe, dont be ashamed to use brasso, then silvo (possibly as wadding and wearing gloves). but a mirror finish shows up all the scratches you thought you had got rid of and also firescale as unsightly blotches which were previously not noticeable.