PDA

View Full Version : hello from wirral

wellhammered
08-09-2010, 06:16 PM
Hello from the North west. Like the new member from Bristol I am delighted to find a forum in England. (rather than them all being in America). I started working with silver a few years ago but I am almost totally self taught which can be a bit frustrating at times, especially when I became fixated on raising, difficult to get from a book. However, if anyone else is interested in raising, the Christopher Lawrence video from The Goldsmiths Company is fantastic. I am based near Chester and would dearly love to have contact with anyone nearby. On a recent holiday in Ireland I came across a great silversmiths studio in Kilkenny and totally pigged out on discussing tools, suppliers etc! Now I feel lonely :(

Joe
08-09-2010, 06:46 PM
Hello!!!

I know exactly what you mean - jewellery making can be a lonely sport. These forums can be immensely satisfying but also a bit of a soaker-up of time!

There are actually several forums in the UK, each with a different feel. This one is one of my favourites as it gets a good balance of professionals and strong amateurs willing to give clear advice. When I have time, I also look at:

Making Jewellery (http://www.makingjewellery.com) - more bead, glass & gem oriented with fewer pro jewellers but very tolerant and supportive!

Jewellers Collective (http://www.larsandingrid.co.uk) - a very irreverent, professional bunch given more to off-topic banter and innuendo rather than advice!

Feel free to chat away about tools here - you'll find hundreds of us thoroughly fixated on the tiniest details of tools!

Wendy Moriarty
08-09-2010, 07:59 PM
Hi and welcome,