PDA

View Full Version : My first efforts

steelarts
07-05-2010, 08:30 AM
Hi there, I'm new to the forum and to making jewellery. This is my first effort at making a ring and I made plenty of mistakes but I also learned a lot from making said mistakes. I'm a gun engraver by trade and the engraved monogram and shoulders are by me. I am pleased with the way it turned out. Any constructive critique is most welcome as my aim is to keep improving.

cheers,
Marcus

ps_bond
07-05-2010, 08:44 AM
Hi Marcus - I think you're the only full-time engraver on here, I'm afraid; that will make a critique kind of tricky. What was the ring before you started working it?

Folks, if you haven't seen Marcus' website, I would heartily recommend it - he does fantastic work (and on more than guns too).

steelarts
07-05-2010, 08:49 AM
Hi Peter, sorry I should've said that the ring was a die struck signet ring blank from Cooksons that I made up. I used a sterling silver blank as I figured it was better to make my mistakes on a cheap ring than a gold one! I learned a lot from the exercise, not least how to solder and how to resize (as I made it too big), LOL.

MuranoSilver
07-05-2010, 08:55 AM
Wow - Marcus that is amazing :worthy:
Firstly :welcome: to the forum
I love solid textured jewellery and your engraving is so visually interesting balancing the ring design perfectly!
Was the original ring cast in wax? Hope it's the first of many as if that's your first go, I can't wait to see what you make next!
On another note I would like to get intertwined initials drawn for myself (to use as a logo), unfortunately my shop name
leave me with MS and my own is NC neither of which seem to work well.
(I want to have it made into a stamp for my work later too)
Any advice?
Nic xx

lorraineflee
07-05-2010, 09:07 AM
Hi Marcus and welcome - I am in total awe of your engraving!
Lorraine

ps_bond
07-05-2010, 09:17 AM