PDA

View Full Version : New member from Exeter, Devon

Patstone
26-04-2010, 06:59 AM
Hello, my name is Pat and I am new to this jewellery making business. Just started evening classes at my local college in the 6th week now so have started to get to grips with it a bit. Have a bit of a challenge, two years ago I lost my eye through a cataract op that went wrong, so have also lost my distance vision. It took me quite a while to be able to make a cup of tea without spilling it on the worktop, but I have got used to that, so a new challenge was jewellery making. So far I have made a ring, bracelet and a pair of earrings for my mum. Just for a laugh on me!!!! The other day I was soldering a joint on another ring I was making and I thought as it was a nice day I would do it in the conservatory, which is a bit of a mess due to having recently acquired a Labrador puppy. Well guess what, I was looking the other way and smelt burning and I had set all dog towels alight. Fortunately I was able to throw them out in the garden in time, so its just the corners that are gone, but it could have been worse. Hubby said he thinks I should change the small spare bedroom into a workshop, well he has changed his mind now.

snow_imp
26-04-2010, 08:04 AM
Welcome Pat.

I'm sure you'll enjoy the forum.

Post a picture of the pupppy and everyone will be happy - there's a pampered pets thread somewhere I think.

HannahJewelleryDesigns
26-04-2010, 09:19 AM
Hi Pat :~:
dont worry i've set myself on fire a few times! welcome to the forum!

Ominicci
26-04-2010, 11:28 AM
Hello Pat, yes we've all had accidents. I regularly saw my nails!

Gemma
26-04-2010, 12:14 PM
Sawn nails, filed fingers, rotary tool cutting disc into fingers, burns....... I dread to think what I'd be like with one eye!

:welcome: to this forum of clutzy jewellery makers Pat ;)

MuranoSilver
26-04-2010, 02:50 PM
Hi Pat
Welcome to the forum & hope you don't have too many more "firebug" experiences, lol
Nicola xx

Jemart