PDA

View Full Version : Can You Make a decent Living Making Jewellery?

Cathy at the Beach
08-04-2010, 05:41 PM
Seems a bit of a dumb question- but seriously - I wonder.
Almost everyone I know who is a creative jeweller has another job or career.

I am a Realtor and thinking of retiring and focusing on my jewellery. I am pretty good at marketing and pricing and I know it is really hard to make enough money to live on by jewellery alone.

Here in Manitoba most stores that sell what I make carry various artists jewellery. Most are in the same ballpark price wise. ($75- $180 retail per piece). The stores say they sell an average of 4 pieces of jewellery per artist per month. That means having an awful lot of venues to sell at. Where I live there just aren't that many stores!
I guess the thing to do is get accounts outside of your own cachment area.

Any comments on this? I'm sure many of you sell your jewellery successfully and make a living at it.
Can you share any secrets :)

Sunnybank
08-04-2010, 06:36 PM
I've been wondering this Cathy

geti-titanium
08-04-2010, 07:52 PM
Yes you can.

The potential from your local traders sounds a bit limited so, go global! Learn as much as you can about internet marketing and seo and get your website on page 1 of google - it really isn't difficult, just time consuming. Also whilst your sales are low, try to keep your overheads low as well - search out jewellery websites that offer a yearly membership subscription and has tie ins with manufacturers and suppliers offering a discount to the members, a guild site for example.

Di Sandland
08-04-2010, 08:15 PM
That sounds like a cunning plan Geti - any suggestions?

Sunnybank
08-04-2010, 08:26 PM
I'm all ears .........................

geti-titanium
08-04-2010, 08:27 PM
That sounds like a cunning plan Geti - any suggestions?