PDA

View Full Version : Got my Rock Tumbler - now what?

Milomade
08-04-2010, 11:25 AM
Hi All - at last! I managed to get my hands on a National Geographic Rock Tumbler on eBay - it was a very later listing finish [after midnight] and no-one else was bidding on it, so I managed to get myself a bargain!

Anyway it's just arrived and I have no idea what to do next.
Do I need to buy special stuff for it? I guess I don't use the polishing compounds that come with it. What do I use to polish jewellery and where do I get it?

Also tips on how to use this to polish jewellery, how long it takes etc etc etc would be very useful, I'm a total tumbling beginner.

Thanks

E

Lou
08-04-2010, 11:59 AM
I know you need to get some steel shot like this Stainless Steel Mixed Shot 1kg - Cooksongold.com (http://www.cooksongold.com/Jewellery-Tools/Stainless-Steel-Mixed-Shot-1kg-prcode-998-003B)
and some soap and water. Im not sure on the timings though as I don't actually have a tumbler but I want one! :)

Cathy at the Beach
08-04-2010, 12:49 PM
I use steel pin shot mixture. It has all sorts of little odd shaped pieces of steel.
I fill it about 2/3 full of water and add a lubricant. You can use shavings of ivory soap, dish detergent or the material sold for tumbling- can't remember what its called but frankly ivory soap worked just the same.

I leave my jewellery in for a couple of hours. You want to leave it long enough for the job to be done. I have left stuff in there over night and had no negative results. ( a couple of hours usually works fine though)

Petal
08-04-2010, 02:18 PM
Hi Evie,
You might find some useful comments on this thread http://www.cooksongold.com/forum/need-help-ask-experts/2223-barrel-polishers.html. I know George recommends NOT using general washing up liquid with a tumbler, as there are some nasty additives that will not be kind to jewellery.

Hope that helps.

agent_44
08-04-2010, 02:38 PM
Hi Evie,