PDA

View Full Version : Website feedback?

elliboo
20-02-2010, 06:34 PM
I have already had great advice and tips from this site, and enjoyed the last challenge. (I've got an enamelling kit ready for the next one - never tried that before and my kiln just arrived too!:dance:).

I wonder if I could ask for some feedback on my website (http://elliboo.co.uk) - It's definately a work in progress and the pages aren't all finished, but I'd hate to have to start from scratch if it's completely unusable - I've never built a site before. I have not quite got my head round the SEO yet, but that's a job for the next week.

Thanks in advance
Sharon

caroleallen
20-02-2010, 09:22 PM
Looks good to me.

lynnm
21-02-2010, 02:36 AM
Looks good to me to! =D>

Jemart
21-02-2010, 09:27 AM
Overall look is nice, though if I had to pick fault I'd say your homepage lacks impact - This is your shopfront and gives that all important first impression. I am not feeling the wow. The text is good to have for SEO purposes but it is hampering the aesthetics. Try putting a big picture at the top of the page with text and more small pics further down.

elliboo
21-02-2010, 10:00 AM
OK - I'll have a play around with bigger pics this afternoon.
Thanks everyone

OK - I've made the pics a bit bigger - does it make a difference?

Jemart
21-02-2010, 11:59 AM
Not much difference, sorry. Layout of the homepage needs a rethink.
If it were my page I would use less pics but much bigger, full screen for visual impact. Maybe change the front page pic regularly or have it auto changing between several pics (assuming sufficient tech savvy to do a slideshow thingy)
Try to bear in mind how you shop when you look at websites. For me it's all about the pics and if something catches my eye it is only then that I go read all the blurb. Having said that text content helps with google rankings.

agent_44
21-02-2010, 12:21 PM
Hi Sharon