PDA

View Full Version : Just wanted to say hello

ClaireBear
04-02-2010, 10:49 PM
Hi My name is Claire & I started silversmithing just 4 weeks ago. Enrolled in the 2 hour hobby course & was then offered the City & Guilds Course as well. So 2 hours on a monday & then 3 1/2 hours on a thursday but with a lot more work & research expected from me. Am loving it so far although I have found sawing today gradually made me lose the will to live! Any tips on how to stop the blades from breaking all the time?

Apart from my course work I would like to make something special for my step-daughter who is getting married in July & for my sister & her husband who celebrate their 25th Wedding Anniversary in June. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Bearing in mind that I am a newbie but am also very enthusiatic! lol We have been shown silver casting this week so that maybe an option.

Thanks in anticipation.

Claire x

MuranoSilver
04-02-2010, 11:04 PM
Go gentle with the force and let the blade do the work (helps me with saw blades).
Also make sure the blade is tight, it should ping when you twang it :)
nic xx

lynnm
05-02-2010, 04:18 AM
I haven't done lots of sawing so far but felt like you to start with and then this week all of a sudden it was so much easier! guess practice helps! I run my blade through wax to help it (I just run it through a candle)

Fi Wilson
05-02-2010, 07:50 AM
Hi, welcome to the forum :~:. Yes, like Nic says, let the blade do the work. Sounds a bit strange but you'll soon feel as though you're just holding and guiding the saw rather than putting any sawing pressure on it. The trick is to relax while you're doing it.

Fi

AlexandraBuckle
05-02-2010, 09:12 AM
welcome to the forum :~:
good luck with the sawing! keep practising and you'll soon be a pro :)

lorraineflee
05-02-2010, 10:03 AM
Hi and welcome from me too! :~:
Lorraine

Gemma
05-02-2010, 01:04 PM
Hello Claire and :welcome:
Don't lose the will to live! Keep trying! Best hobby ever!