PDA

View Full Version : After the fact!

ps_bond
28-07-2009, 10:21 AM
Having piled into a few threads, it's probably time I introduced myself.

I'm an engineer fulltime, and in my spare time I do... Stuff. :)
Leatherwork, occasional blacksmithing, enough woodworking to make what I need - and, of course, jewellery.

I've been making jewellery now for around 6 years in various guises - a few courses along the way, but a lot of it self-taught (if reading books & online really counts as self-taught?). Mostly I work in silver, but do use gold for a commission. Had a break from it recently due to a lack of workshop space, but I've finally got a new one up & running now (and built my first dedicated bench too - planning to build the next already).

Interests along those lines include - but aren't limited to -

Mokume gane (fusing, not soldering)
Traditional goldsmithing
Stonesetting (collet, prong, flush - recently started doing grain)
Engraving
Raising ("normal" and anticlastic)
Casting (cuttlefish, Delft clay)

Things I'd like to add to the mix:

Enamelling - done a very small amount so far, needs exploring.
PMC (although I have a mental block on that one - every time I think of doing something in PMC, I cast it instead)
More silversmithing!
Spinning

I'm both a bibliophile and a tool junky - these can cause slight space issues (not to mention wallet). Some tools I can make readily enough, although I can get carried away with making tools to make tools to make tools to... What was it I wanted to make in the first place?

Of course, the biggest trick is finding the time to do all this - which is why I didn't surface from the workshop until well after dark last night! Helping look after a few horses also cuts into the available time.

Oh yes, and I'm an ACJ member (or at least, will be again if they ever cash the renewal cheque!).

bustagasket
28-07-2009, 10:30 AM