PDA

View Full Version : HELP! I'm having problems soldering a bangle

clwheat
24-12-2009, 07:46 AM
I am tearing my hair out trying to solder a few STS pegs onto a STS bangle/cuff (which beads are going to be glued on).

I am quite new to soldering but thought I had it sussed. I have been using solder paste, I can see it try to flow, but then it just seems to dry out and do nothing else.

I have tested solding anther piece..fine.
I have melted solder on the pegs...fine.
I am sure that the bangle is clean and the holes the pegs go in.

What's going on???????

bustagasket
24-12-2009, 07:49 AM
welcome to the forums clw, unfortunately i am not experienced enough to offer any golden advice to you but there will be plenty of people to do so later i should think, unless they have all gone away for xmas :-s

clwheat
24-12-2009, 08:33 AM
Hi Su',
Thank you for the welcome!
Just been having a look through the forum...Fab!!!:
Don't know why I didn't join before now.#-o
:merryxmas:

mizgeorge
24-12-2009, 09:08 AM
Hi clwheat, and welcome!

I wonder if you're getting the bangle itself hot enough? It's the heat from the metal, not the torch, that will make the solder flow, and a bangle can be quite a heavy piece to get really hot. Keep heating the main body of the bangle, and only bring the heat over to the peg right at the end. If the solder itself gets too hot too early it will be spent before it gets a chance to do its job.

lorraineflee
24-12-2009, 10:23 AM
Hi clwheat, and welcome from me too. Listen to George 'cos her advice is always ace!!
Lorraine
:xmaswelcome:

clwheat
24-12-2009, 10:37 AM
Hi
You know I kept saying to my hubby that it seems like the bangle isn't getting hot enough...but how long does it take to get hot? I heated the area about 8mins the other day. The bangle is 3.5cm wide and 1.2cm thick.

Off now for attept number 3647........Fingers, toes and legs crossed!

clwheat
24-12-2009, 11:07 AM
I am returning unsucessful!