PDA

View Full Version : Rings

Vivia
17-11-2009, 08:11 PM
Hello all,:~:

Today, I mainly have two ring-related questions!

Firstly I wondered whether people tend to make their rings out of sheet metal, or out of reversed D wire, or other?

Secondly (but it's related), as a beginner I tried my first ring a few weeks ago and made it out of copper sheet. However the bit I found quite awkward was getting rid of the square (sharpish) edges so it was comfortable to wear, but so that all the edges were equally curved. . . Which then led to a lot of sanding and filing to equal them all out. . . Which led to a ring that ended up being half the thickness it started out as. #-o I know the latter is due to my novice-ness, but I wondered if there was a 'usual' way to combat the problem (or avoid it in the first place) that perhaps I'm missing?

I'd be grateful for any advice/thoughts from you clever people...

Vivia x

caroleallen
17-11-2009, 09:00 PM
Maybe the sheet metal was too thin, that's usually the cause of sharp edges.

Lindyloo
17-11-2009, 09:23 PM
It's easier to make a ring from wire, if it comes in the size you want. That way, you don't have to worry about getting the edges perfectly straight.

Tigerlily
17-11-2009, 09:44 PM
Good question Vivia, I did wonder that too!!

Thanks for that JJ, was very helpful, will print that off and add to my file :Y: No doubt will ask you more when I get to that stage :xmaslaugh: xx

Emerald
17-11-2009, 09:49 PM
the last ring i made and the first in a long time lol the storming ring, i made with 1mm sheet i wouldent make a shank any less than that for a ring and during the process of polishing it the edges became smoother

Tigerlily
17-11-2009, 09:55 PM
Vivia, sorry for hijacking your post again ... but JJ can I ask where's best to buy a rawhide mallet, and how do you know the quality - or is that just me asking a daft question??? :"> xx

MuranoSilver
18-11-2009, 08:20 AM