PDA

View Full Version : Barrel Polishing

Mila Jewellery
12-11-2009, 08:48 PM
Can somone give me a bit of advice on these please - after spending today trying to polish one of many small pieces I'm going to link together to make a bracelet, and now having very sore thumbs and a rather acute angle on my left thumb nail I decided there must be a better way! I have had a brief look on the web but I have never used one before and so I though I'd ask you lovely people on here :D

AlexandraBuckle
13-11-2009, 09:02 AM
Having just decided I want one myself from reading another thread - I'd be interested to hear what people have to say too :) I actually find polishing really boring!

Gemma
13-11-2009, 09:12 AM
Yeah- I think I need one too. I have a rock tumbler- can I use this with steel shot etc?

Petal
13-11-2009, 09:25 AM
Here's some links about tumblers that should help - lots of useful recommendations.

http://www.cooksongold.com/forum/jewellery-advice/209-rock-tumbler-rocks-cleaning-jewellery.html

http://www.cooksongold.com/forum/got-jewellery-question/811-tumble-polishers.html

Happy reading....

AlexandraBuckle
13-11-2009, 09:33 AM
Great, thanks for that Petal!

Emerald
13-11-2009, 09:55 AM
Can somone give me a bit of advice on these please - after spending today trying to polish one of many small pieces I'm going to link together to make a bracelet, and now having very sore thumbs and a rather acute angle on my left thumb nail I decided there must be a better way! I have had a brief look on the web but I have never used one before and so I though I'd ask you lovely people on here :D

The advice i would give is get one lol you still will need to use a pendant drill for the occasional item but for a lot of items the barreller gives a great finish, after spending many years using a large polishing motor and mops i can easily say i am soooo converted no more black hands, hair or face xx

Fiona
13-11-2009, 11:32 AM