PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Advice Please :-)

Tigerlily
10-11-2009, 10:36 AM
Morning all ...

I am a complete newbie to jewellery making (am semi experienced in wirework) and have ordered a couple of books off amazon (recommended from here ;) Jinks McGrath & Madeline Coles) I am hoping to start a part time course at the school of jewellery in Jan/Feb if a place becomes available. In the meantime I am thinking of taking an art clay course locally - do you think that this would be a good way to start whilst waiting for a place to come up?

Thanks and any advice will be very much appreciated...

Gemma
10-11-2009, 11:07 AM
This may be a case of the blind leading the blind but...

...I thought the same thing (though haven't booked on a course). I ordered some silver clay cos I thought it would break me in gently to silversmithing. I've been to afraid to use it though as you don't get a lot for your money!! Instead I've started hitting silver after reading various books and reading everyones great advice on here. My first piece (I'll post pic later) is a pair of earings I made after experimenting with a bit of silver. I'd decided to buy some silver to just have a play and see how it worked.

I'd say- grab some silver and start playing!! :D

Tigerlily
10-11-2009, 11:33 AM
Hey Gem, sounds great advice to me!!

I can't wait to order some stuff and have a play!! Just think I will wait for my books to arrive first so I know what I need to order lol!!! Ooh would love to have a look at your pics ... how exciting!!

Solunar Silver Studio
10-11-2009, 11:56 AM
If you can get to a metal clay course near to you I would advise you go that route rather than try to teach yourself... From experience it is far harder than it looks and unless you have some skills in other media - like polymer clay, ceramics, sugarflowers - it is really hard to develop the skills when you are working with a material that costs £1 per gram!