PDA

View Full Version : How do you polish your nooks and crannies??

Solunar Silver Studio
22-07-2009, 07:44 AM
As I am totally self taught on the pmc front - I have bought a couple of books though - but nothing I have seen has really said anything on how to get the white film out of nooks and crannies in fired pmc. I use the normal brass brush; grades of wet n dry and sanding sponges cut to all sorts of shapes and sizes; burnishers etc etc but nothing seems to really get right in there... Has anyone out there sussed out how to do it?

And while I am on the subject of metal clay...since so many people have a passing interest in it don't you think there ought to be a heading on the main forum for metal clay questions/answers/hints n tips/experiences etc? I noticed there is something for beads and beaders. Is it only something the administrators can add?

julie
22-07-2009, 09:35 AM
now thats a great idea ... sorry can't help you with you nooks and crannies :rolleyes: i'm new to pmc charms & toggles is as far as i have got but do love it there is so much you can do with it ... :D

Charlotte
22-07-2009, 09:38 AM
I have always assumed its whatever you can improvise to get in to nooks and crannies... I'm pretty good at wet and dry origami;)

MuranoSilver
22-07-2009, 10:27 AM
I stick everything in my tumbler and they come out shiny but I do have the thin pins in my stainless steel shot mix.
Another option is the polishing wheels with the little tentacles just looked it up Cooksons call them radial abrasive disks (http://www.cooksongold.com/Jewellery-Tools/Radial-Disc-Kit-6-Each-3-Grades--3-Mandrels-prcode-999-1967).

Nic x

Charlotte
22-07-2009, 10:31 AM
I need to look into these thin pins for the barrel washer they sound ideal!

The Bijou Dragon
22-07-2009, 11:40 AM
Cooksons doesn't have the pins in their shot, the only place I saw that for sale with pins is from a metal detecting place which I can't find again lol

... great help aren't I?