PDA

View Full Version : Shop advice

caroleallen
01-11-2009, 07:46 AM
Having worked flat out all year on making and selling jewellery at craft fairs, galleries and online, I'm beginning to wonder whether life may be easier if I had a shop and made and sold from there. I'm so tired of lugging my stuff around to fairs, only to find that yet again I've picked the wrong show for my work. I've been doing this for nearly 10 years now and it's not getting any easier.

Does anyone have any useful advice on the pros and cons of running a shop please.

Solunar Silver Studio
01-11-2009, 08:17 AM
I seem to remember that Nic put some alarming figures on a post about the cost of running a shop...it may have been someone else...but it was way back in the early days of the forum. I know it shocked me though!:-O

Found it!! http://www.cooksongold.com/forum/5667-post3.html

Boo
01-11-2009, 09:14 AM
I have this same thought process from time to time if I see a nice little empty shop up for grabs - but having had a fabric, haberdashery and craft shop for 6 years (the term of the lease, I couldn't wait to get out when it was up) I swore I would never go that route again. I lived in a perpetual state of stress. Looking back on it now, I was incredibly unhappy then.

I would however like either an art market stall, one or two days a week, or one of the little workshops in a complex - but there's nothing available near me and I'm on various waiting lists, so that won't happen any time soon.

The problem with a shop - as Nic pointed out in that post linked to - is that you have regular costs every month that you have to cover - rent, rates, insurance, utilities etc. and they're alarmingly big numbers. If you have a couple of days of bad weather, or there are some roadworks nearby that divert traffic - any little thing can make a huge dent in your takings and make it hard to cover your outgoings.