PDA

View Full Version : Using Silver solder paste

jools02
26-10-2009, 04:23 PM
Hi everyone, being a newbie and clueless (as usual) I would like to make life easier for myself. I usually solder using borax and a solder strip. However, is using paste a lot easier? If so, how do you do it. The only things I need to solder are cufflink fittings to the fronts. Do you just paint the paste onto the fitting, line it up and then heat it with a blow torch? How do you know when you're done?

AlexandraBuckle
26-10-2009, 05:51 PM
sorry no one has replied yet...
but I'm afraid i'm no soldering expert...
there must be someone who can help.... anyone...?

amazingbabe
26-10-2009, 06:47 PM
I find solder paste much easier to work with anyway,,, for cufflinks you just put some on and you will see it flow, you will just get like a flash of silver and then immediately remove the heat. Hope this helps :Y:

Jayne
26-10-2009, 06:54 PM
Okay, I'm no soldering expert but I do use paste solder, so here it goes. I use it in probably the same volume & position as strip solder, no flux, heat it in the same way as strip solder and, like strip solder, you know when it's flowed because it goes silvery. Oh, & I wouldn't try squeezing it straight onto the joint - I usually squeeze a bit out first & then place it gently on the joint (weak girly muscles lol).
J x

bustagasket
26-10-2009, 06:54 PM
i am quite new to paste myself but have found it great for small jobs just like Gayle says

caroleallen
26-10-2009, 07:56 PM
I don't use it for everything but I must admit I'm using it more and more for awkward solders. I don't use the syringe needle though. I squeeze a bit out and use a pin to place the paste where I need it. Heat the piece in the normal way and you'll see the flash as the solder runs.

jools02
27-10-2009, 08:32 AM