PDA

View Full Version : Storing pickle solution

lucy81
23-10-2009, 11:34 PM
Sorry for being a complete newbie (again), but....

I only need to pickle a few items. I haven't made up the solution yet! But I was wondering, is there a safe way to store pickle when not in use?

I don't know how long it will be until I need to pickle again. I don't really want to leave it hanging around in a Pyrex dish. Or should I just dispose of it once I'm done?

Thanks

Solunar Silver Studio
24-10-2009, 09:59 AM
Well - I very rarely use pickle as I work predominantly with fine silver and pmc that don't need pickling...but I do have a brew made up and I do use it occasionally for Argentium as this does discolour a bit and needs a quick pickling! I have my pickle in a tiny little ceramic, lidded casserole dish which just sits perfectly into an old, tealight powered chocolate fondue set frame. When I finish with it I blow out the candle...pop the lid on and leave it until next time. When I want to use it again I find that the lid is usually stuck on by tiny crystals deposited by the pickle vapour and splashes and the contents is exactly as I had left it - with no evaporation - and is ready to power up again! As far as I am aware - there is no need to chuck your pickle away until it becomes quite discoloured...and even if it tends to dry out because you don't have a tight enough fitting lid, I don't think there is a problem with just adding water to the deposited crystals and re-disolving them.

As usual - there are chemists and long term pickle users on the forum who will know the facts better than I...but no-one seems to have answered you yet...and I can't bear to see a big fat 0 in the replies section!!;)

Green Beetle
24-10-2009, 10:03 AM