PDA

View Full Version : Is there an easy way to write on PMC?

jools02
23-10-2009, 10:18 AM
Hi all, I've just started making fingerprint jewellery and I like to engrave a name next to the fingerprint. The way I was shown how to do it is to wait until the clay is completely dry, and then use a needle tool to etch the name. I'm using it quite lightly but I'm getting very 'scratchy' results. Is there a way I can etch the name whilst the clay is more 'pliable'? Obviously I know I can't do it when its completely wet as it wouldn't work. Another idea I had was maybe to brush some water over the area I want to etch and then write onto it.

Anyone know the best way to do it?

Solunar Silver Studio
23-10-2009, 11:51 AM
I'm no expert with pmc - but I did do a lot of work with real clay in my HND and I think the priciples are pretty much the same. If you try to do it in wet clay or clay that you have dampened again it will drag the surface and you will get wrinkles (and so will the clay!!:-D) You do need to do it when it is dry. If you do it lightly at first and go over it again and again you should get a better result - but I would suggest that you work with some magnifying device and work very slowly so that you keep to the lines you have already inscribed. The best way to write on wet clay is by impressing letters into it.

I'm sure the real pmc experts will be along in a bit...and I know that Nic (Murano) does fingerprints so she will be the one to listen to!!...but hope this helps in the meantime!

Boo
23-10-2009, 12:00 PM
I've wondered about this myself when seeing writing in PMC pieces - I've never used PMC so I'm just curious - could you engrave the dried clay, before firing, with a rotary tool with a suitable engraving tool?

It always struck me that this might give a better results than some of the writing I've seen on PMC.

mizgeorge
23-10-2009, 12:11 PM