PDA

View Full Version : Locket

caroleallen
22-10-2009, 06:45 PM
OMG what have I done! I've just taken on a commission for a large silver locket and I've never done one before. It's hammered and round and made from argentium. So far I've done the circles and fused silver stems onto them ready for silver flowers with gold centres once the locket is ready for assembly. (Argentium fuses fantastically, yeay!)

Does anyone have any tips on making lockets, as it's a new one on me? It'll take me a while 'cos I haven't got the right tube for the hinge and I've only just had an order from Cooksons.

Solunar Silver Studio
22-10-2009, 09:27 PM
Oooooo....crumbs!! I hope you haven't got a deadline for this locket!?? I think Tim McCreight has done a book on lockets and boxes...but I can't remember exactly what it has got in it. I'm quite excited that you have found Argentium to fuse well...I'm hoping to have a proper play with it over the week end...nothing quite as special as you though! Sorry I can be of no help to you...except I'll cross my fingers for you if that helps!!:D

caroleallen
22-10-2009, 10:17 PM
Silversmithess eh! Thanks for the comments. I've just had a go at fusing some 3mm argentium silver wire to make a bangle and it worked perfectly. Fantastic, as I normally spend ages filing away solder, which is really boring when I make 30 or so at a time.

AlexandraBuckle
23-10-2009, 09:19 AM
Good luck with it! I'd love to see pics of it in progress!

Di Sandland
23-10-2009, 10:44 AM
Carole, you'll be fine and you'll do it beautifully. And when its done - show us a pic ;)

Solunar Silver Studio
23-10-2009, 05:40 PM
Silversmithess eh! Thanks for the comments. I've just had a go at fusing some 3mm argentium silver wire to make a bangle and it worked perfectly. Fantastic, as I normally spend ages filing away solder, which is really boring when I make 30 or so at a time.